My favorite part of St. Patrick’s Day

I’ll be honest, I’ve never been a big St. Patrick’s Day observer. I don’t like the smell of corned beef and cabbage cooking away on the stove and I never understood what’s appealing about boiled veggies. I have made only one corned beef dinner in my life and that was only because a boyfriend asked for it. I will leave the corned beef to my friend Bridget, author of Ranch Wife Life. Bridget is a cattle rancher in Eastern Washington and works for the Washington State Beef Council. Her recipe is tested, tasted and approved and the veggies are roasted, not boiled – a plus in my book.

The one thing I do like about St. Patrick’s Day is Irish Soda Bread. I love it toasted with butter and honey. Why is it only an annual treat? Soda bread is simple to make, quick to bake and intensely satisfying to eat. It should be a weekend standard, not just a holiday treat.

1/4 c. butter, melted
2 T. sugar
2 c. flour
1/2 t. baking soda
2 t. baking powder
pinch salt
1/2 c. buttermilk
1 egg, beaten

  1. Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees F.
  2. In a large bowl, combine all ingredients until a ball is formed.
  3. Turn dough out onto counter and knead for three to four minutes.
  4. Form into a round approximately seven inches wide and two inches high and cut cross on top.
  5. Place on parchment lined baking sheet and bake 35 to 45 minutes or until a knife comes clean when poked into bread.
2 Comments

Filed under Food

2 responses to “My favorite part of St. Patrick’s Day

  1. Dude! Thanks for the links! And, your soda bread recipe made me do what I always do — make something for the first time when people are coming over. Risky, but I can’t help myself. I’d never even eaten soda bread before. But I made it, and it was delicious, and great compliment to the corned beef and veg.

    Just read your post about Vegas — have a BLAST! I know you will rock the panels.

    -bridget

Leave a Reply

