A lazy day?

If you were to ask me, my weekends are shamefully lazy. I sit around and watch a movie or two. I read a book. I paint. I write. Sure I do practical weekend things like do the laundry, go grocery shopping and/or meet a friend or two. But to be completely honest I end up feeling like a perfectly contented sloth most of the time.

But, at the same time, I am surprisingly busy. I say this because today I realized that in all these lazy hours I am amazingly productive. I may remember hours on the couch or in a wicker rocker, but the point of fact I’m up and about more than stationary.

In the last 24 hours I have:

  1. Made a yummy batch of Valencian empanadas
  2. Made carrot-blueberry buttermilk pancakes
  3. A pot of fresh tomato sauce is currently bubbling on the stove
  4. And a bowl of bread dough is rising on the counter

All this culinary activity is ongoing. Dinner will be chicken parm made with the sauce and accompanied by a crusty slice of freshly baked bread.

My freezer is literally bursting from my lazy day efforts. I have six sandwich bags with empanadas, eight containers with pancakes all neatly portioned out for future use. I’m honestly going to have to figure out how to fit some of the bread in as well.

Recipes will follow throughout the week with stories, but right now I’m going to curl up with my current read and in exactly twenty minutes I’ll go punch down the dough. How can so much work be so relaxing? And it is relaxing.

I think that maybe I cook when I’m happy or in turmoil and that maybe, just maybe, I’m a little of both right now. I had a very intriguing date/interview with Mr. B the other night. I say interview because he had a list of questions that have been clearly on his mind…He’s been pretty quiet since. I think it’s because he needs some time to process the responses to his questions. In the mean time I’m cooking.

1 Comment

Filed under Day to day, Food

One response to “A lazy day?

  1. thats nice im an eater not a cook i wont take the time….i admire you….taking the time you must have a special person to cook for….later butch

Leave a Reply

