As promised…the second step to a simple meal

Something tells me that this week is going to be a wonderfully delicious dinner week. Tonight I had peas with mint a simple version of this recipe of chicken and peas, but instead of chicken I used rice. So amazingly yummy with a glass (or two) of white wine – well, I’m one very happy girl.

So back to yesterday’s simple and easy meal. Last night was the recipe for the perfect pita. Tonight is the next step, parsley pesto. Yes, I have posted this recipe at least twice but the fact is that this essential condiment is in my fridge at all times. It adds a depth of deliciousness that makes even plain pasta a heavenly meal. Thus, once again, I present one of my favorite things in the world.

Parsley Pesto

1 bunch parsley leaves (reserved from the stock recipe)

1 clove garlic

1 – 2 T. olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

Combine everything in a food processor until completely chopped and relatively smooth. Put in air-tight container and refrigerate for up to two weeks. I prefer my pesto a little on the dry side, if you would like it more liquid than add another tablespoon or two of olive oil.

Unbelievably delicious? Grill some chorizo sausage. Split down the middle and place on a fresh baguette or roll. Slather the pesto on top and enjoy.

1 Comment

Filed under Food

One response to “As promised…the second step to a simple meal

  1. Pingback: Savoring a short season | The New Farmer's Blog

Leave a Reply

