Icky is the word

I have a killer cold. Snotty, congested, coughing and just all around icky. I not only feel icky, I look icky. This weekend started with me being sent home from work because (even though it wasn’t directly spoken) I was grossing people out. I spent the rest of the time in a Nyquil-induced haze.

I did take the time to make a heaping pot of wholesome, chock-full-of-goodness chicken stock – complete with chicken feet. I know, I know, chicken feet! Talk about icky, but I’ve been told by several truly awesome cooks that chicken feet are the key to the most awesome chicken stock you will ever have. And after this weekend’s batch I am in complete agreement. The stock turned out so amazing that I am convinced a week of quick and easy chicken soup will have me back to the picture of health in no time.

Here is an older recipe for chicken stock. If you can find chicken feet (which I highly recommend) throw in about a pound to pound and a half. They add a dense richness to the flavor.

Quick and Easy Chicken Soup (serves 1)

Ingredients:

1/4 c. chopped onion

1 large celery stalk, chopped

2 medium carrots, chopped

2 c. chicken stock

1 T. parsley pesto

Cooked noodles or rice (optional)

  1. In a medium sauce pan, heat 1T. olive oil.
  2. Add onion, celery and carrots. Saute over medium heat until fork-tender (about 5 minutes).
  3. Pour in chicken stock and bring to boil. Cook for additional 3 minutes.
  4. Remove from heat. Stir in parsley pesto and noodles if desired.

This recipe is my go-to for a quick but hearty soup. In less than twenty minutes I have the most delicious and fortifying soup chock full of veggies. Perfect when I’m feeling tired, cranky or just plain icky.

1 Comment

Filed under Food

One response to “Icky is the word

  1. If you are in upstate New York, Lewis Waite Farm (in my blogroll) sell chicken feet for only $1.50/pound!

Leave a Reply

