Framing your life

This week I read the most amazing essay by Clayton Christensen in the Harvard Business Review. Entitled How Will You Measure Your Life? , Christensen lays out his philosophy on how one can apply management principles to life. It isn’t a how-to list per se, but a way of staying focused on love, passion, perspective and awareness.

Christensen asks his students at Harvard Business School to ask themselves three questions.

  1. How can I be sure that I’ll be happy in my career?
  2. How can I be sure that my relationships with my spouse and family become an enduring source of happiness?
  3. How can I be sure I’ll stay out of jail?

The last point, he notes is harder than you may realize because bad decisions are built on little compromises along the way.

Anyway, enjoy the essay. It resonates. It refocuses. It inspires.

2 Comments

Filed under Basics, Day to day

2 responses to “Framing your life

Leave a Reply

