A girl’s got needs

Sometimes a thought pops into my head and I just can’t get it out. I need something…bad. It could be a run, a kiss or a sweet treat but I’ve just got to have it and my mind won’t rest until I’ve gotten whatever the “it” is.

I house-sat this week for friends in my old stomping ground. I realized just how much I missed having a space of my own, surrounded by the people and the place that make me feel complete, like the best version of me. So, maybe I’ve got some searching to do, some big changes to make and some moving in my future…I’m not sure just yet.

But, back to the craving I’ve had going around in my head for the week – oatmeal pancakes. Yes, I said pancakes. Soft and supple, hearty and sweet, I’ve had this need float around with little ambition or opportunity because seriously what’s the point in making a batch of pancakes if it’s only you who is going to eat them?

So, back on the farm, I woke up early while everyone was out in the barn this morning and made a very successful batch of oatmeal pancakes. A nice treat for those coming into the smell of comforting, warm perfection and a treat for me to see how eagerly they got snapped up.

Below is the recipe, adapted from Deborah Madison’s Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone.

Oatmeal Pancakes

1 1/2 c. quick cook oats

2 c. buttermilk

2 eggs

1 t. vanilla

2 T. maple syrup

1/4 c. canola oil

1/2 t. salt

1/2 c. flour

1/2 t. baking soda

  1. Stir the oats and buttermilk together in a large bowl and let stand for 15 to 20 minutes.
  2. Beat the eggs with the vanilla, syrup and oil, then stir into the soaked oats.
  3. Combine the dry ingredients and add them to the oat mixture as well, stirring until fully combined.
  4. Cook in a skillet over medium heat. Flip when bubbles for in the center of the pancake and the edges are firm.

These pancakes are truly satisfying…and filling!

Leave a comment

Filed under Basics, Day to day, Food

Leave a Reply

