5 rules for life…

I’m going to admit a not-so-secret…I’ve become a bit of a 5 Rule junkie. There is something about the quick concise, usefuleness of 5 Rules that resonate deep within me. There are 5 Rules for pretty much any situation, any problem or crunch area in life. In fact, I’m sure there are 5 Rules for how to do crunches.

5 Rules have order, they have purpose. I love order, I love purpose. I am nothing if not pragmatic. 5 Rules can be fun, quippy and animated. 5 Rules can impart serious, sound and (yes sometimes) sarcastic information. They fit any mood, any situation with their usefulness. I love 5 Rules so much that little typed up lists are beginning to take over my desk. Here are a few of them. I’m sorry but I don’t have the sources written down so I can’t give credit where credit is due…

5 Rules to a Con (by Jennifer Cruise)

  1. Make them smile
  2. Get them to say “yes”
  3. Make them feel superior
  4. Give them something they want
  5. Ask for what you want but make them think you’re doing them a favor by taking it

Accountability Means

  1. Be willing to fail
  2. Be willing to make decisions
  3. Be proactive
  4. Don’t play the blame game
  5. Be confident

5 Things to do Every Day

  1. Wake up early. Work early
  2. Read the headlines and watch the news
  3. Send something to one person who can hire you or buy your product
  4. Touch base with an old friend or associate you haven’t talked to in ages
  5. Write a handwritten note

I’ve got lots of little tips and prompts in-between the itemized numbers, but they’re more personal suggestions. That’s the great thing about 5 Rules, you get to adapt them to what you need and who you are. You can work them to work for you.

Leave a comment

Filed under Basics

Leave a Reply

