Sweet satisfaction

I was craving something. Something good. Something wholesome and comforting and oh-so-satisfying – but something new all the same. I found the sweet satisfaction I was looking for in The Lily Wallace New American Cookbook circa 1946. I don’t know where I got this cookbook and I don’t know whose hands flipped through the pages previously, but whoever it was, she loved this book.

There are handwritten notes in the margins, scrap pieces of paper strewn throughout the text – tucked in, poking out and taped inside – some have conversions from pints to pecks, from ounces to cups and tablespoons. There are recipes gathered from other sources hidden within possessing old-lady scrawl that reminds me of my grandmother. Maybe it was my grandmother’s, I don’t know.

Today I baked Oatmeal Macaroons (recipe 3065 – all the recipes have numbers attached to them). Below my adapted version of this delicious concoction that taste like a crisp, satisfying version of morning oatmeal or kind of like an oatmeal version of rice-crispy treats.

Oatmeal Macaroons

1 c. sugar

1 T. melted butter

2 eggs (separated)

1/2 t. salt

2 1/2 c. rolled oats

2 t. baking powder

2 t. vanilla extract

1/2 t. cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

  1. Mix sugar and shortening. Add egg yolks, salt and rolled oats until combined.
  2. Add baking powder, beaten egg whites, cinnamon and vanilla and mix thoroughly.
  3. Drop 1/2 t. to 1 t. onto a parchment lined baking sheet (I did 1 t. drops), allowing space for spreading. Bake 10 to 12 minutes. (I would say no more then 15 minutes; you don’t want them too crisp.)

These super simple, sweetly satisfying cookies would be great to make with kids on a weekend afternoon.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

