A corny request

St. Patrick’s Day has come and gone and boy, did I live it up.

There were cute boys, lots of laughs and over indulging – but none of it was related to traditional St. Patty festivities. No, I spent my night with three very well behaved, very cute boys aged 8, 6 and nearly 2. We made ice cream leprechauns – an ice cream scoop for the head, a cone for his hat and as much green frosting, whipped cream and rainbow sprinkles as your heart desires. They were a very yummy hit.

Tonight though I’m making more traditional fare, corned beef…for the first time ever. How do I explain this? I don’t like corned beef, but I’m making it because the farmer boy, my farmer boy, requested it with big blue eyes and a tone in his voice that just dripped with excitement, like eating corned beef and cabbage was some kind of exotic adventure. How could I burst his bubble? And besides, I’m rather capable in the kitchen (on my more cocky days I’ve been known to even call myself gifted – today is not one of those days). So here I am with a new recipe and crossed fingers; I’m even hoping that I like it.

I know the theory is there and the practice too, so here is my low and slow corned beef and cabbage recipe. Enjoy!

Serves 4

1 (4 lb) thin cut, premium corned beef brisket

2 T. grainy mustard

1 T. pickling spice

1 large onion, sliced

1 large orange, sliced

3/4 c. cold water

2 c. carrots cut into 2 inch chunks

2 granny smith apples cored and cut into large chunks

4 large red potatoes cut into large cubes

1 (3 lb.) cabbage cut into eighths

  1. Preheat oven to 250 degrees F. Rinse corned beef and pat dray, set aside.
  2. In a small bowl, combine mustard and spices. Rub over roast. Place in oven bag and arrange veggies on and around the roast.
  3. Pour in water and seal bag so steam won’t escape. Place in oven and bake 4 hours.

Serve with butter, white vinegar and mustard…oh, and crusty bread too!

1 Comment

Filed under Food

One response to “A corny request

  1. Pingback: My favorite part of St. Patrick’s Day | The New Farmer's Blog

Leave a Reply

