The pre-flight jitters

I’m off to Orlando tomorrow for the American Farm Bureau’s Beginning Farmer conference. It’s the first time I’ve ever been to a national Young Farmer and Rancher event so I’m a little excited and a little nervous all at the same time.

I’m excited to catch up with friends that I haven’t seen in over a year and I’m excited to meet a whole bunch of new people from across the country. I’m a little nervous because, well, I’m going to meet a whole bunch of new people from across the country… and I have to actually get to Orlando … and I have a running date with a friend and I’m worried that I won’t be able to run as fast or as far as her and I’ll look like an idiot. You know, the usual stuff that flies in and out of your head when faced with a change to the everyday routine of your life.

I’ll be fine within the first forty minutes of being there and commanding the room in under two hours, that’s just the way it goes. But no one ever sees the pre-flight jitters, do they? We hardly ever let people into our own insecure, kind-of crazy heads, the little voices that screech out “Are you sure you can do this? ” For me, those voices can get pretty loud and if I let it, they could be down right debilitating. But the truth is that I fake confident really well, I fake it until I believe it as much as everyone else around me.

So, when I get back on Tuesday night, I’m sure that I’ll have lots of stories, new friends and a few photos to share as well.

Leave a comment

Filed under Basics

Leave a Reply

