Singin’ Hinnies

I’ve been living a little different life than the last time I checked in. I’m now making all my own bread-type things myself. I make pitas and breads, oatmeal pancakes and buttermilk muffins…and this morning I made something called Singin’ Hinnies. They’re a British breakfast food. Sturdy and quick, these little rounds are warm and sweet…and easy to re-heat in the toaster oven (perfect for work week breakfasts). I had them with butter and homemade strawberry jam. Yum.

Singin’ Hinnies (makes eight)

3/4 c. half white, half wheat flour

1/2 c. whole wheat pastry flour

1/8 t. salt

2 T. cold butter

1 t. vanilla

1/3 c. dried currants

1/3 to 1/2 c. buttermilk

  1. In a medium bowl, mix the dry ingredients. Cut in the butter until it looks like cornmeal. Stir in currants.
  2. Add in just enough liquid so that a firm dough forms.
  3. Roll out the dough and cut into rounds (I use the lid to a sour cream container).
  4. Heat some canola oil in a cast iron skillet. Place two to three in at a time, cooking 4 to 5 minutes a side.

Serve hot with your choice of toppings.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

