My love affair with a particular pastry

I was lucky enough to head over to Kate’s this week for lunch (something we haven’t done in quite a long time). As per usual, I brought dessert. What I really really really wanted to make was a canoli pie. I am in love with canoli’s and you can rarely get one that competes with the king of all canolis, the Luigi canoli. Luigi’s is a bakery in Bridgeport (and Trumbull), CT near where I grew up and they make the most amazing Italian pastries. My mouth salivates just thinking about them. I love Luigi’s so much that for my birthday this year, my best friend brought up six trays of the treats for everyone and included with it a canoli pie.

Alas, my morning schedule wasn’t going to allow me to transport a creamy, cool, carefully prepared and quickly consumed canoli pie, so I made a very tasty substitute…Ricotta Pie. I served it with fresh strawberries and coffee and it was yummy… Kate happened to mention that I talk about the canoli pie quite a bit, which I didn’t realize. I will make one soon and share the recipe. For now, here is the ricotta pie.

Ricotta Pie (makes 2 pies)

2 frozen deep dish pies

6 eggs

1 c. confectioners sugar

1 c. white sugar

1 T. vanilla

1 T. honey

1 1/2 lbs. ricotta cheese (2/3 of a 32 oz. container)

1 c. mini chocolate chips

  1. Pre-heat oven to 325 degrees.
  2. In a large bowl, beat eggs, sugar, vanilla and honey with an electric mixer until combined.
  3. On a low speed, beat in ricotta cheese until thick and creamy.
  4. Stir in mini chocolate chips.
  5. Divide the filling between the two pie crusts and bake, covered with aluminum foil, for 30 minutes. Remove foil and bake for another 15 to 20 minutes or until center is firm and a knife inserted into the pie comes out clean.
  6. Serve with fresh fruit (strawberries, raspberries, blueberries) and enjoy
Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

