Tails, trotters and other tasty bits?

Ah, my fascination with the…I’m going to say more exotic…cuts is back with a vengeance.  I can honestly say that tongue will not be on my menu anytime soon, but trotters and tails just may be.

Today I’m contemplating trotters (pigs feet). I’ve found two recipes that sound actually rather appetizing. One is for Tuscan Trotter Stew and the other is for Pied de Cochon. If the dishes are delicious (which I have a sneaking suspicion they will be) I think I’m going to ambush people into enjoying pigs feet. I’m going to start a whole trotter movement. People will have t-shirts and shopping totes with little pigs feet raised up in a fist with a red background in a worker’s of the world unite motif.

The reason I’m fascinated? They’re cheap cuts and seem so rustic to me. I’m actually really excited to experiment with the (initially) disgusting. I did a quick search for recipes with pig tails as well. I found one that sounded great, sauerkraut with pig tails and dumplings, but sadly when I looked at the ingredients tail was not included – quite a let down.

I’ll let you know next week how my introduction to trotters has gone. I think I’m going to try it for Wednesday’s dinner!

1 Comment

Filed under Food

One response to “Tails, trotters and other tasty bits?

  1. other cheap cuts extremely popular in Tuscany, where they are loved are chicken liver crostini, served in almost any restaurant as a starter! oriana of tuscanycious.com

Leave a Reply

