Busy days and exhausted nights

This has been a busy week. In the winter, the farm makes deliveries once a month down to CSA groups in New York City. I am now happily looking at the last hurdle of one long race.

It starts on Saturday when I help organize the orders and make labels for the bread, cheese, eggs and other goodies we collect from local farms and businesses. Monday is packing day, from 9 to 5 we’re on our feet calling off items, pulling them from organized coolers, packing them into bags and boxes and loading them onto a cart. When everything is accounted for and ready to go we head up to the house to enter in all the packing weights and get all the necessary information together for when the van leaves at 6 am. I get home around 7:30 or so dragging my feet. This Monday I was so tired I didn’t even bother eating dinner. I just got into my pj’s and fell asleep on the couch.

Wednesday is pull day. We take the orders that have been placed for the Saturday delivery and pull all the items from the freezers and place them into coolers. It means being on your feet all day out in the cold. Thursday is just like Saturday, but with some bits added in. I pull the dry goods and organize them in addition to getting the eggs ready to go. Friday is another packing day from 9 to 7 or so.

Tomorrow night when people are heading out to bars and clubs what will I be doing? Curling up on the couch with a glass of wine in my pj’s and thinking about how good it feels to have worked so hard and be so exhausted.

A nagging little thought has crept into my head though; in the summer the farm does a delivery a week, which means this one week marathon I experience every month will be the norm and not the exception. I guess I’ll face that hurdle when I get to it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Day to day

Leave a Reply

