A new name

Last week the New York Times Magazine featured an article by Peggy Orenstein. The topic? A new movement called femivorism.

What is femivorism? Well educated, stay at home housewives who take their role as providers of health and well being as a statement of womanhood through back yard agriculture. According to Orenstein: “Femivorism is grounded in the very principles of self-sufficiency, autonomy and personal fulfillment that drove women into the workforce in the first place.”

The first time I read the article I felt like “huh, so what I’ve been thinking and doing has a name”. It felt good. But then I read it a second time and now I’m not so sure how I feel.

Read it and let me know what you think.

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/03/14/magazine/14fob-wwln-t.html

2 Comments

Filed under Basics

2 responses to “A new name

  1. Stevie

    I really disliked that article. First a femivore would actually be someone who eats women. All of a sudden something farm wives have been doing for years is suddenly in. Sigh – Pioneer Woman is having a movie made about her life moving from the city to the country – do we need another movie about affluent city people moving to the country and pioneering what??

    • My thoughts are mixed. I completely agree with you but at the same time I feel like anything that raises a positive involvement in agriculture is a good thing. I’m siding more on the negative end of the scale though, like it’s a real-life version of farmville…a sense of power with no real knowledge.

Leave a Reply

